Stay up to date with the Ring of Gullion

Sign up to ensure that you don't miss out on any Ring of Gullion news and events!

Restoration of Dorsey Embankment

The Dorsey Embankment is an ancient Iron-age rampart, referred to in stories as the “Doors of Emhain (Armagh)”.  A lot of the embankment has been destroyed over the centuries, however at the junction of the Tullynavall and Drumill Road, off the main Armagh to Dundalk road (A29) an imposing section, roughly six metres in height, still survives.

Our volunteers cleared the vegetation away from the front of the Dorsey Embankment, as well as tidied vegetation along the sides, so that the overall shape of the structure can be more clearly seen.  In coming months an information board will also be installed so that visitors can learn more about the feature.

Lottery Funded
NIEA DoE N&M DC Biodiversity

Quick Contact

Ring of Gullion AONB
Crossmaglen Community Centre,
O’Fiaich Square,
Crossmaglen,
BT35 9AA.

Tel: +44 (0)28 3086 1949
Slieve Gullion Forest Park: +44 (0)28 3031 3170
Email: info@ringofgullion.org

Latest Tweets

Photo Galleries & Videos