Stay up to date with the Ring of Gullion

Sign up to ensure that you don't miss out on any Ring of Gullion news and events!

Heritage from Home Online Talks

Heritage from Home Online Talks

Find out about your Heritage from the comfort of your own home this winter. Starting 26 January, and throughout February and March, Libraries NI will be running a series of online talks, events and workshops on four topics:

• Ancient Ireland: history & myth
• The environment: nature and landscape
• Your family, your history
• Partition: how it affected us

All these events will be delivered on Zoom and can be followed on PC, laptop, iPad and on most smartphones.

It is essential to book, so if you would like to attend an event, please email e: [email protected] , specifying which talks you would like to attend and we will reply with a link and basic instructions on how to connect.

The programme will be updated weekly, so keep checking this page for all events.

Monday 8 February 2:30pm-3:30pm Martin McDowell The Ballycarry DNA project
Wednesday 10 February 2:30pm-3:30pm Dr William Roulston Exploring the Elder Family of East Donegal

 

Monday 15 February 2-3pm Dr Dónal McAnallen Games of Two Halves: Sport & Partition in Ulster, 1921-39

 

 

Wednesday 17 February 2:30pm to 3:30pm Dr Peter Leary Unapproved routes
Thursday 18 February 1-2pm John Grenham Starting research on Irish records
Monday 22 February 1-2pm Brian Sloan The archaeological dig at Cathedral Hill, Downpatrick
Wednesday 24 February 2:30pm-3:30pm Prof Linda Connolly Women and partition TBC
Friday 26 February 1-2pm John Grenham Why can’t you find your Irish ancestors?
Monday 1 March 1-2pm Jayne Shrimpton Dating and understanding family photographs, 1840-1940

 

Tuesday 2 March 1-2pm or 2-3pm TBC Dr Liam Campbell A sense of place: ecology, community and the human spirit
Wednesday 3 March 2-3pm Joe Mahon Question and answer session with Joe Mahon
Thursday 4 March 1-2pm or 2-3pm TBC Dr Liam Campbell Boundaries, borders and map-making: A comparative measuring of America and Ireland
Friday 5 March 1-2pm Mike King The Ballykinlar History Hut project at Down County Museum
Monday 8 March 1-2pm Jayne Shrimpton Workshop: dating photographs
Tuesday 9 March 1-2pm Dr Kirstin Lemon The Earth Connects Us: The geology and landscapes of the Mourne Gullion Strangford Aspiring UNESCO Global Geopark
Wednesday 10 March 2:30pm-3:30pm Dr Marie Coleman Protestants in the South of Ireland
Friday 12 March 2:30pm-3:30pm

TBC

Dr Patrick Gleeson Religion and belief in Iron Age Ireland
Monday 15 March 11:30-12:30pm Dara Vallely / Armagh Rhymers Mumming and rhymers (illustrated talk)
Monday 15 March 2-3pm Armagh Rhymers St Patrick’s Play
Thursday 18 March 2:30-3:30pm Frances Quinn Storytelling

(Irish myths)

Friday 19 March 1-2pm John Grenham Irish property records for Family History

Event Details

Heritage from Home Online Talks takes place on February 8, 2021 until March 19, 2021.
It starts at 1:00pm and ends at 2:00pm.
Lottery Funded
NIEA DoE N&M DC Biodiversity

Quick Contact

Ring of Gullion AONB
Crossmaglen Community Centre,
O’Fiaich Square,
Crossmaglen,
BT35 9AA.

Tel: +44 (0)330 137 4898

Email: info@ringofgullion.org

Visitor Servicing and Attractions: 0330 137 4046

Email: info@visitmournemountains.co.uk
for any visitor servicing questions.

Latest Tweets

Photo Galleries & Videos